The Kosher wines of Celler de Capçanes have been recommended in the Wallstreet Journal for Le Pessaj or the Jewish Passover.
Did you know that the Celler de Capçanes was the 1st producer of Kosher wine in Spain? And that its wine “Peraj Ha’abib or Flor de Primavera” has been and is still considered one of the best Kosher wines in the world?
We propose 4 options of certified Kosher wines to taste during these holidays:
Peraj Petita Rosé 2022 | 100% Garnacha
Peraj Ha’abib 2021 | Equal parts Cabernet Sauvignon, Cariñena + Garnacha
La Flor del Flor de Primavera Samsó 2021 | 100% old vine Cariñena
La Flor del Flor de Primavera Garnatxa 2021 | 100% old vine Garnacha
What makes a wine Kosher?
Wine is used for the sanctification of Shabbat as well as for Jewish holidays, for example the Jewish Passover or Le Pesaj. In his Sacred Temple the wine was poured on the altar together with the sacrifices.
Kosher wine requires strict treatment and monitoring of the following rules:
- Its production process, subsequent bottling and including the opening of the bottles must be exclusively handled by in Jewish hands.
- The wine fermentation tanks and all the material used during production must go through a kosherization process and have exclusive use for Kosher.
- The process begins The Law of 3 waters: fill the tanks with water three times, at intervals of 24 hours.
- All raw materials used in the production of wine must be previously certified by Jewish Law.
- Yeast, bacteria, enzymes, everything must be of natural origin and possess the Kosher certificate.
- Once the grapes arrive at the winery during the harvest, the hands of the rabbi or a relevant Jewish person proceed to become the hands of the winemaker; following all their guidelines.
- It is prohibited to use organic material as fertilizer during the vegetative cycle of the vineyard.
- The use of clarifiers of animal origin is prohibited. Our Kosher wines are certified vegan.
- Our Kosher wines are suitable for Pesach (Passover): it is guaranteed that the wine and all materials have not been in contact with flour (Passover restricts the use of grains that can ferment. These grains are wheat, barley, spelt, oats, and rye. During Passover, people can only eat unleavened grains).
Our Kosher wine has been certified by the following bodies:
- “OU” Rabbinate of the United States
- London Federation of Kashrut
- Chabad Lubavitch of Barcelona
- Katz Israel