Wine, more than any other food or drink, represents the holiness and separateness of the Jewish people.
It is used for the sanctification of Shabbat and Yom Tov and at Jewish celebrations. In the Beit Hamikdash (Holy Temple) wine was poured upon the Altar together with the sacrifice.
However, since wine was and still is used in many forms of idolatrous worship, it has a unique status in Jewish Law, which places extra restrictions on the making and handling of wine. This includes wine used for non-ceremonial purposes.
The production and handling of kosher wine must be done exclusively by Jews. Wine, grape juice, and all products containing wine or grape juice must remain solely in Jewish hands during the manufacturing process and also after the seal of the bottle has been broken. It is not permitted to drink any wine or grape juice, or any drink containing wine or grape juice, which has been touched by a non-Jew after the seal of the bottle has been opened.
• The exhaustive protocol of the winemaking process based on Jewish Law demands that production meets the following conditions:
• Fermentation tanks and materials used in the production must have been “kosherizados” and be for the exclusive of the kosher wine process.
• All raw materials used during the making of wine must been certified for Jewish Law (that is, all of them must have kosher certification).
• The process begins by filling the tanks three times with water, and with intervals of 24 hours.
• From the moment the grapes arrive at the winery to be unloaded into the reception hopper, the Rabbi’s hands -or thos of a competent Jewish person with full knowledge of kosher protocols – become the winemaker’s hands. The Rabbi performs all the instructions given by the winemaker, and the wine once made, may be approved as a kosher wine.
Our wine is elaborated following Jewish Law and under the supervision of the prestigious Rabbinate OU from the USA and Kosher Federation of London in close collaboration with local Rabbis of Chabad Lubavitch.
- Minimum age of vines : 4 years
- No organic fertilizer
- High hygiene and cleaning conditions
- Added bacteria, yeast, enzymes are not allowed
- Gelatin, Casein are prohibited for fining
- Bentonite is allowed, Egg white also, but each egg has be opened and checked by the Rabbi
- Only new bottles are allowed to be used
- In the 7th year (Sabbath year) you are not allowed to pick the grapes (regeneration)
- 1% of the wine has to be given to poor people
- Only Sabbath observing Jewish are allowed to vinify it, or to have “physical or visual” contact with the wine
- www.jabadbarcelona.org(Jabad Lubavitch Barcelona)
- www.ou.org(Orthodox Union)
- www.kfkosher.org(The Federation of Synagogues Kashrus)