Wine, more than any other food or drink, represents the holiness and separateness of the Jewish people.
It is used for the sanctification of Shabbat and Yom Tov and at Jewish celebrations. In the Beit Hamikdash (Holy Temple) wine was poured upon the Altar together with the sacrifice.
However, since wine was and still is used in many forms of idolatrous worship, it has a unique status in Jewish Law, which places extra restrictions on the making and handling of wine. This includes wine used for non-ceremonial purposes.
The production and handling of kosher wine must be done exclusively by Jews. Wine, grape juice, and all products containing wine or grape juice must remain solely in Jewish hands during the manufacturing process and also after the seal of the bottle has been opened. Is not allowed to drink any wine or grape juice, or any drink containing wine or grape juice, which has been touched by a non-Jew after the seal of the bottle has been opened.
- The exhaustive protocol of the winemaking process based on Jewish Law demands to meet the next requirements:
- Fermentation tanks and materials used in the production must been “kosherizados” and to have an independent use only for the kosher wine process.
- The whole raw materials used at the making of wine must been certified for Jewish Law (that is, all of them must to have kosher certificate).
- The process begins by the filling up the tanks with water three times, and with intervals of 24 hours.
- Since grape arrives to the winery to be dumped in the hopper, the Rabbi -or Jewish competent person about kosher know how- hands becomes in the winemaker hands. The Rabbi follows all the instructions given for the winemaker, and the wine finally made, can be approval as a kosher wine.
Our wine is elaborated following Jewish Law and under the supervision of the prestigious Rabbinate OU from the USA and Kosher Federation of London in close collaboration with local Rabbis of Chabad Lubavitch.
- minimum age of vines : 4 years
- no organic fertilizer
- high hygiene and cleaning conditions
- added bacteria, yeast, enzymes are not allowed
- Gelatin, Casein are prohibited for fining
- Bentonit is allowed, Egg white as well, but has be opened and checked by the Rabbi
- only new bottles are allowed to use
- in the 7th year (Sabbath year) you are not allowed to pick the grapes (regeneration)
- 1% of the wine has to be given to poor people
- only Sabbath observing Jewish are allowed to vinify it, to get “physically and visually” in contact with the wine
- www.jabadbarcelona.org (Jabad Lubavitch Barcelona)
- www.ou.org (Orthodox Union)
- www.kfkosher.org (The Federation of Synagogues Kashrus)